Who are the DWG?

The Dieback Working Group (DWG) was formed in 1996 by local government authorities, community groups and state government land management agencies concerned with the management of Phytophthora Dieback in Western Australia.

The objectives of the Dieback Working Group as stated in our Rules of Association are to:
increase awareness and management of Phytophthora Dieback by key stakeholders;
Be a source of knowledge and facilitate the development of best  management practices for Phytophthora Dieback;
Promote best practice in Phytophthora Dieback management by government, industry, NGO’s, utilities and landholders;
Encourage the adoption of Phytophthora Dieback best practice policy in government, industry, utilities and NGO’s and;
Apply for and coordinate funding applications and facilitate effective partnerships.
The Dieback Working Group is composed of an Executive Committee, a Management Committee, general members and Project Officers (when projects are underway).

What do we do ?

The Dieback Working Group seeks to meet their objectives through their Management Committee, their general members, through strong partnerships with other organisations and through their projects. The Management Committee discuss and decide on the activities, opportunities and directions that the DWG will take towards achieving their objectives.  This includes proving comment on policy, legislation and management plans.

The DWG Project Officers give their expertise to projects that result in the training, education and increased awareness of Phytophthora Dieback by stakeholders. They also support on-ground works to improve and increase management and treatment of the disease.

The duties of a DWG Project Officer can include (depending on the project):

  • Talks for community groups
  • Training for stakeholders
  • Education for school/ TAFE students
  • Holding phosphite treatment days
  • Developing management plans
  • Conducting surveys of stakeholders
  • Developing information products
  • Holding event stalls
  • Funding Phytophthora interpretation
  • Funding hygiene infrastructure
  • Funding access infrastructure
  • Holding an annual DIG conference
  • Providing general support and advice      

Current Projects

Building a self-sustainable Dieback Working Group

Timeline: September 2016 - August 2018

 Outline: This project will allow the DWG to develop its corporate governance and business delivery structure, coordinate its activities with other Dieback management organisations, implement a new revitalised communication plan, build the capacity of project partners and other stakeholder in undertaking Phytophthora Dieback management, roll out of the DWG Green Card training program and expand its education program.

Project partners: 
- Birdlife Australia
- South Coast NRM
- CPSM at Murdoch University

Funding body: This project is supported by funding from the Western Australian Government's State NRM Program.

govOfWATextColour 283x268

Management Committee

Prof Hans Lambers
    Vice Chairperson
Prof Giles Hardy
Adele Scarfone
Evan Brown

Committee Members

  • Dr Treena Burgess (Exec Committee)
  • Bruno Rikli (Exec Committee)
  • Dr Bill Dunstan
  • Bonny Dunlop-Heague
  • Cameron Crowe
  • Dr Elaine Davison
  • Dr Emer O'Gara
  • Glenn Tuffnell
  • Ingrid Sieler
  • Jess Stingemore
  • Joe Grehan
  • Karl Hansom
  • Kellie Motteram
  • Lisa-Jane Hults
  • Maria Sevo
  • Mike Agnew
  • Steve McCabe


Kat Sambrooks

Position: Executive Officer

Role: Kat undertakes activies prescribed by the DWG Committee including applying for grants, organising the annual DIG Conference, answering queries from partners, stakeholders and the general public, maintaining the DWG website, running projects and representing the DWG when required. Kat is also a Green Card trainer and runs the Green Card Training program as well as other DWG training courses.

Mob: 0488 082 628

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 Bruno Rikli

 Position: Project Officer

 Role: Project Officer responsible for the Building a Self-sustainable Dieback Working Group  Project. Bruno's key activities are to build networks and partnerships while developing and expanding our Discvovering Dieback School Education Program and our Green Card Training Program.
Bruno will be running several Green Card Training sessions through the project and delivering our Discovering Dieback Program to  regional schools, once updates have been implemented.
Bruno is a DWG registered Green Card Trainer. 

Mob: 0400 208 582

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Kat and Bruno v2